The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » Dai Vernon's wand spin (15 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
Montana76
View Profile
Inner circle
I hope I one day reach
1167 Posts

Profile of Montana76
Hi,
I am currently studying Daryl's Master Course - Cups and balls (vol. 2). His presentation of the Dai Vernon routine does not include the wand spin at the vanish of the third ball in stage 2 referenced in "The Dai Vernon Book of Magic by Lewis Ganson".

So, I am curious;
- Why did Daryl omit this?
- Is this not a part of the "original routine"?
- Is there a video source where I can study it?

I wish you all a splendid week!
Tom Fenton
View Profile
Inner circle
Leeds, UK (but I'm Scottish)
1449 Posts

Profile of Tom Fenton
You may want to get in touch with Bri Watson.
He's a member here, his user name is cupsandballsmagic.
Bri has an excellent book all about the wand spin.
"But there isn't a door"
Ray Haining
View Profile
Inner circle
Hot Springs, AR
1704 Posts

Profile of Ray Haining
I second the Brian Watson booklet, "The Vernon-Mora Wand Spin Workshop." He breaks down the wand spin into two parts: the wand spin itself and the steal, and then puts the two together. I gave up on the wand spin many years ago, but Brian's book has helped me to finally master the move. One thing I was unaware of is the importance of the size of the wand. I was using a wand that is too long and bulky for the move to be done properly. The booklet has many clear photographs illustrating the moves, and if you want to learn the wand spin, it is the way to go. It is very inexpensive as well.

Of the video explanations, I found the explanation given by Mike Rogers on the Stevens video to be the best.
Leo H
View Profile
Inner circle
1047 Posts

Profile of Leo H