The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Polly wants a cracker... » » Air Filter? (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

latentimage
View Profile
Elite user
No More Room In Hell..
438 Posts

Profile of latentimage
I keep a lot of birds in a second bedroom in my apartment, and I have been fighting dust since I moved in a few months ago. I didn't have to worry about it so much before since they had an entire different area of my last place all to themselves. I bought a Honeywell air purifier (which was quite an expensive model), and it does ok, but it isn't really doing enough. The room still ends up with a fair amount of dust on everything, even though I clean the filter out constantly. I'm pretty sure I need to get a second one, but I was hoping someone here could give me a recommendation as to a good model for this purpose? I do all of my office work and rehearsals in this room, so I am in there a lot. After what happened with David Oliver, I have obviously been giving more thought to trying not to breathe this stuff in. Any recommendations would be appreciated.
"Come to the edge," he said, They Said "We Are Afraid," "Come to the edge," he said, They Came, He Pushed Them...And They Flew. -Apollinaire

"If there be a skeptical star, I was born under it. Yet I have lived all my days in complete astonishment." -W. MacNeile Dixon
Bill Hegbli
View Profile
Eternal Order
Fort Wayne, Indiana
22797 Posts

Profile of Bill Hegbli
You mean white Dander, not dust, then I take it. Dust is from particles of dirt flying around constantly, really dust mites.

It is a losing battle, the only thing you can do is give the birds a bath at least once a week. Put in tube and close curtain or doors, leaving only small opening. Then turn on shower very lightly. Actually, if it to cold, you might want to make it a little warm, but not hot in any way.