We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Shuffled not Stirred » » Anyone Done That? (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
RiderBacks
View Profile
Loyal user
249 Posts

Profile of RiderBacks
Again, I preface this with the disclaimer that I am new to memdeck work. But I was thinking about one problem today, and a solution (using a memdeck) occurred to me. I thought I'd share and see, yet again, what folks think. Once I have my stack down perfectly, I'll start looking into purchasing the memdeck literature (starting with _Bound to Please_ and _Try the Impossible_.) But in the meantime, I'm just toying with ideas, so again, forgive me if this is elsewhere in print.

Consider a situation in which you want to force an item out of a group of several. Suppose you have four items, and you want to force one of them. Let's make those items be sealed envelopes, say. (They could be pieces of fruit or anything else, obviously.) With a memdeck, I think you could pull off a neat version of a magician's force...

Let's call the envelopes "1", "2", "3", and "4." You want to force number three.

Ask the spectator to take an envelope. Suppose they pick 1. Now ask them to select a number in the range (inclusive) of 1-52. The spectator selects the number five, suppose. That's the 9S in the Aronson Stack. Here you might say, "If the fifth card is odd, we toss your envelope. Otherwise we keep it." Of course, the spectator will have to toss the envelope.

Ask the spectator to take another envelope and name a (different?) number in the range (inclusive) of 1-52. Suppose they select the number fifteen. That's the 7D. You want to force a toss, since we're interested in forcing the third envelope, so you say: "If the fifteenth card is black, keep the envelope. Otherwise, toss it!"