The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Shuffled not Stirred » » Mnemonica study guide? (10 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
rapmr
View Profile
New user
17 Posts

Profile of rapmr
Hello Folks,

I am new to the Café, and I think this is an outstanding resource. I live in a small town and there is no monthly magician's meetings as in most big cities, so I appreciate the fact that I can meet magicians here and benefit from their combined knowledge and willingness to help out less experienced ones like me.

I have ordered a Mnemonica book and it should arrive next week. I have memorized the stack in the meantime, and I can't wait to start studying it. I anticipate that it will take me years to study the book thoroughly, but I wanted to know if someone has come up with a study guide of sorts (maybe somebody has done something similar to Opie Houston's RRTCM study guide for Mnemonica, or for memdeck work in general). If not, I would appreciate some ideas on where to start. I'd like to go through the whole book eventually, but I just want to be efficient about studying it. I am not asking what's the easiest stuff to do, but maybe what are the most valuable chapters for a beginner to build skills systematically.

Thanks in advance
pnielan
View Profile
Regular user
Northern California
154 Posts

Profile of pnielan
(1) For me, memorizing the stack using mnemonics or any other technique was the first step only. Memorizing it allows you to review it and practice it any time and place without reference to paper or phone. That's invaluable. You can practice in line, at airports, during boring work meetings, while driving (license plates to cards).