The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Hello everyone (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

oliverho
View Profile
New user
31 Posts

Profile of oliverho
Hi from an unseasonably warm Toronto. Just a short note to introduce myself. I'm interested primarily in mentalism--I'm a hobbyist. Used to be more involved in magic and performing when I was younger and living on the west coast. I wish you all the best of the season Smile
Mary Mowder
View Profile
Inner circle
Sacramento / Elk Grove, CA
3643 Posts

Profile of Mary Mowder
Welcome Oliverho,

Since you had been into Magic, what got you into Mentalism (Mentalism is a part of Magic from my perspective but I know what you mean).

Happy Holidays to you as well.

-Mary Mowder
oliverho
View Profile
New user
31 Posts

Profile of oliverho
Thanks Mary--nice to meet you!

I'm not entirely sure what intrigues me about mentalism but I think it has to do with two main things:

- I'd spent some time reading and studying psychology and neurology, not in an academic sense but more as research for a writing project.
- For the past few years I've been working as a writer/editor at a hospital that focuses mostly on mental health and addiction issues, so a lot of my day-to-day work also involves reading about psychology.

I also like thinking about how to apply the sort of techniques that tend to come up in mentalism for communications and storytelling.

And there's also the way my sleight-of-hand skills have significantly degraded since I was younger Smile
Mary Mowder
View Profile
Inner circle
Sacramento / Elk Grove, CA
3643 Posts

Profile of Mary Mowder
Those skills can come back to a great degree if you practice like you did when you were younger.

There is some advantage to having those skills as some Card Magic works very well in a Mentalism theme.

-Mary Mowder
oliverho
View Profile
New user
31 Posts

Profile of oliverho