The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Need misdirection for card tricks (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

abbeylane
View Profile
Regular user
122 Posts

Profile of abbeylane
I've been doing magic for just under two years. Today, I did some table hopping with cards tricks.

I managed to pull the card tricks off for most people. However, there were a few people who wouldn't look at me, but kept their eyes on the deck.

Thus, I couldn't perform the trick.

How do I misdirect the people who want to keep looking at the cards in my hands?
jimgerrish
View Profile
Inner circle
East Orange, NJ
3211 Posts

Profile of jimgerrish
Don't do those kinds of tricks in restaurant work until you are more capable. In the meantime, there are many card tricks that people can stare at to their hearts' content and see nothing. Those are the ones you should start with.

If you are seriously requesting an answer to your question, you'll need to at least mention which trick you were performing when you ran into the problem.
SamChak
View Profile
Veteran user
367 Posts

Profile of SamChak
Quote:
On Jan 17, 2016, abbeylane wrote:
How do I misdirect the people who want to keep looking at the cards in my hands?

A simple way is to instruct the spectator to place the Jokers (on a table) back into the box, or request the spectator to inspect the box to make sure it is "clean."
"The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science."

~ Albert Einstein ~
US (German-born) physicist (1879 - 1955)
abbeylane
View Profile
Regular user
122 Posts

Profile of abbeylane
Jimgerfish: I was doing the " Slop" card trick. What other card tricks would you suggest?

SamChak: The jokers were already cleared from the deck. I like the idea of inspecting the box for misdirection as I did the move.

Thanks for your help.
SamChak
View Profile
Veteran user
367 Posts