The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ballooning 101 » » Bling Bling Jam? Or other convention? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

R2D2
View Profile
Veteran user
304 Posts

Profile of R2D2
I’ve been twisting for almost a year. I'm not a professional; I mainly do volunteer work for little kids, and I have a regular day job.

I was thinking of attending a balloon convention, possibly Bling Bling Jam in Las Vegas in July. I noticed that there may be magic classes as well. I've been doing magic far longer than I’ve been twisting, so this is appealing to me. I'd be flying out from NY, but I don't really mind (and I like Las Vegas anyway).

Here are my questions:

Does anyone have an opinion of this convention?

Considering that I'm an amateur twister, would you suggest a different convention instead? I have no idea what would be right for me.

It runs from Sunday-Thursday. Should I plan on being there the whole time, or does it get boring to twist for 5 straight days?

Being away from my wife for that long doesn't really appeal to me. Considering that she's a non-twister, do you think she'd still have a good time if she came to Vegas for part of the time? In other words, is there a lot of down time when the two of us could hang out on the strip? (I know the hotel isn't on the strip. In fact, it doesn’t seem to resemble the hotels on the strip at all!)

Thanks for any advice you all can give.
NYCTwister
View Profile
Loyal user
267 Posts

Profile of NYCTwister
I've never been but from what I've gleaned from various threads they tend to be intensive and immersive, so maybe not bringing the wife might be best.
I guess you should weigh what you hope to get vs what it will cost.

Considering you do volunteer work -mad respect for even considering the investment.
If you need fear to enforce your beliefs, then your beliefs are worthless.
R2D2
View Profile
Veteran user
304 Posts

Profile of R2D2
Quote: