We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » All tied up! » » Siberian Chain Escape - Does Extra Loop add to the effect. (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

tank5030
View Profile
Regular user
Portsmouth, VA
151 Posts

Profile of tank5030
Hello all,
I have never done an escape effect before, but I am thinking about adding a simple chain escape to use on a mission trip I am taking this upcoming summer. I came across the Siberian Chain escape and really think it's great as far as its simplicity and ease, yet good impact. My question is this. At first viewing, the biggest visual weakness I see is that the right wrist is not wrapped with a chain all the way, perhaps leaving the specs thinking that the gap is just big enough to slide the hand out. Am I right in understanding that by using a longer chain which could then be wrapped around the right wrist an extra time, that it might appear more "secure" without affecting the working at all? The wrists could still be moved in the right way to be able to do what is needed?

Just like to hear your thoughts since you guys are the experts on these things. Thanks a lot.

Donnie
Cliffg37
View Profile
Inner circle
Long Beach, CA
2485 Posts

Profile of Cliffg37
To execute an effective Siberian chain escape requires some degree of salesmanship. That is one reason it is often combined with other things like bags or boxes. I watched Patrick Culliton at a convention years ago sell it as a "brute force" escape and it looked great. No one needs to get a good enough look at the chain to be able to follow the path and locking system... that is your job then; to make it look good. Make it look hard and believable.

You might want to seek out some experienced person to "show you the ropes."
Magic is like Science,
Both are fun if you do it right!
Harley Newman
View Profile
Inner circle
5110 Posts

Profile of Harley Newman