The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » You are getting sleepy...very sleepy... » » Impossible to lift me - as a set piece. (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Tristan14
View Profile
New user
23 Posts

Profile of Tristan14
The trick below in the video is only what I could find as an example but think ive seen this done by hypnotists before.
https://youtu.be/IwPO7yVDVHY
the idea being you get a strong person or 2 to lift you off the ground then the second time they will be unable to do so and you seemingly stick to the ground or become incredibly heavy.
I think I've seen a stage hypnotist use something similar but it was years ago before I started learning anything about hypnosis. Does this effect work well as a set piece to a stage show? If so how does it work? is it purely suggestion based or is there a bit of human body physics at play like an eye rolling back in the head making it harder to open your eyes when your told to try.
Mindpro
View Profile
Eternal Order
10619 Posts

Profile of Mindpro
Who was doing it in the video? My guess was a magician, not a hypnotist. That should answer your question.
Dannydoyle
View Profile
Eternal Order
21263 Posts

Profile of Dannydoyle
It is body magic. It is a physical phenomenon, not really hypnosis.
Danny Doyle
<BR>Semper Occultus
<BR>In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act....George Orwell
mindpunisher
View Profile
Inner circle
6132 Posts

Profile of mindpunisher
Ive seen the handlock explained this way by a number of hypnotists both therapy and stage. And that its just a "con" and their hands aren't really stuck etc. But that isn't my experience. Not disagreeing with Danny he is right this just came into my mind thought it was worth mentioning. Ive had people in the audience who never came up at the start with their hands still stuck after nearly two hours sitting in the auidience.
Tristan14
View Profile
New user
23 Posts