We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » Starting Out For Party's (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

SuperMagic
View Profile
Regular user
172 Posts

Profile of SuperMagic
I'm not sure if this is the place to post this, but if not please move it to the right place. Now, I'm not sure if I should start doing party's for kids. I was thinking about it and alot of my friends say that I'm very good and that I should start out doing party's. Atleast for half an hour to an hour the most. I have been doing card magic for about 6 years now, but I know I'm gonna have to get some props and stuff for kids and how to make balloon animals and stuff. What are some of the things I need to know and have before starting out for party's?
Paddy
View Profile
Inner circle
Milford OH
1571 Posts

Profile of Paddy
OH LORDY! you need to know a bunch of stuff. But the good news is that there is a lot of help out there. Start by getting David Ginn's books and tapes on "kidsBiz" as he calls it. There is a lot of good info on what effects works with kids and what will go over their heads. Also what age kids are you going for? I always ask that when booking a party because some of my effects will go right by a 5 y.o. and be loved by the b8 to 9 y.o. Also what a 5 y.o. likes will bore the world out of 7 or 8 y.o.

Certain age groups will harrass you with "I know how to do that." No you can not use them as a target in Penn & Teller's routine of catching a bullet. The thought may cross your mind after the ..... kid has said this for evry effect you have done for the last half hour, but yoy just are not allowed to do that. It is just one of those things that kids entertainers don't tell you until you have started to do kids shows.