The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » Strolling Through Restaurants (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
snedglow
View Profile
New user
Pine Grove, PA
94 Posts

Profile of snedglow
Someone suggested I should have posted my message here rather than in the Secret Sessions where I had it originally. Apologies ... I didn't think about it, actually. Here is my original message:

Quote:
I have a few questions pertaining to restaurant strolling as I am new to that market and am unsure how I should proceed.
I want to approach local restaurants about doing this; and actually that is the first question: What should I say to the restaurant owner?

Second question: Isn't it true that I'll be working for tips? How do I get that message across to people? Should I put out a top hat or what?

Finally, and I say finally because there are still a million questions, is it all right to market yourself while performing in a restaurant venue? Can I hand out business cards or literature?

Thanks for the help, everyone!

-R
-Randy
[email]rsnedden@closeupmagic.org[/email]
Smile
~~~~~
“Chance is but the pseudonym of God for those particular cases which He does not choose to subscribe to openly with His own signature ... ”
Peter Marucci
View Profile
Inner circle
5389 Posts

Profile of Peter Marucci
Richard,
First, what you say to the owner depends on what kind of restaurant it is, what the market is like, etc. No one can answer that short of being right beside you when you pick a restuarant.

Third, there's nothing wrong with marketing yourself while table hopping. It is -- or should be -- expected; most pros use the table hopping gigs as a way to book the big-ticket shows.

Second, as for tips, that's easy: Don't.
If you are a professional, then act professionally -- and begging for tips (which is what it really is) is most definitely NOT the way to go.