The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workers » » Opinions on practice time schedule. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

SimonCard
View Profile
Special user
601 Posts

Profile of SimonCard
Hi All:

I would like to get your opinions on practice time schedule.
How many hours do you usually practice a day and how do you schedule it? I'm currently a graduate student pursuing a engineering degree, so I don't have much time practicing; but I really want to practice. Sometimes if I practice for too long, I kindda feel guilty for not doing my research enough. I remember back in high school, I literally had to put all cards beyond my reach when I do homework; otherwise I would somehow end up with a deck in my hands.
I always wonder how a skilled magician like Guy Hollingworth got any time to practice; I believe he had lots of law books to read too. I read that Ed marlo modified his machines to finish many hours' work within one hour and then he would practice for the rest of the time. Man I wish I could do something like that, but unfortunately I'm not that smart of a guy.
Bobby Forbes
View Profile
Inner circle
virginia beach, VA.
1569 Posts

Profile of Bobby Forbes
Just sit down and really look at what you spend "wasted" time on. Lots of people say they don't have time to do anything but spend hours a day scrolling through Facebook or posting on forums... If you have time to do stuff like that then you definitely have time to practice. Just a thought
RJLockwood
View Profile
Regular user
Raleigh, NC
162 Posts

Profile of RJLockwood
I write up a practice schedule...

- I perform all my go to routines WELL at least once...
(If I stumble, then I practice again putting special emphasis on getting it right.. Even if I stumble something simple... if it can happen in practice it is bound to happen in performance)

- Perform 3 different go to DLs 52 times each.

- Practice the Versa Switch for about 10 minutes.