The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Booking Charity Gigs? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
NateReeves
View Profile
New user
97 Posts

Profile of NateReeves
Hello,

I am just getting started in becoming a professional, and from what I understand, it would be a good idea to do some charity work. I was wondering how one would go about booking the gig. How do I find the organizations that put on events that would be suitable for walk around magic? And who do I call or talk to that would have the power to book me? I know I'm asking a lot, but I just need a little help getting started.

Thanks in advance
Nate
Mindpro
View Profile
Inner circle
9673 Posts

Profile of Mindpro
Nate, great questions that most of us are faced with at one time or another. First you must ask yourself, are you (your performance) ready for public and paying audiences? Remember, just because you are offering to work the event for free doesn't mean those that are attending are not paying to do so and will have expectations from all involved in an event asking for their money and support.

As you approach the business side of performing always remember to look at and understand the perception and areas of most importance to those booking you - your prospective customers or clients. Theirs is the most important.

Also one things that I feel is a very common mistake many beginning performers regularly do is they create a show then decide to try to find people to book them. While this is one approach, it is always in your best interest to consider other business models and approaches more appealing or to your advantage.