The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » New to New Orleans (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

maildropusa
View Profile

0 Posts

Profile of maildropusa
Hello everyone,
I have been a member since 2015 and this is my first post. I am new to New Orleans, would like to get back into performing magic, and would like some advice from the professionals. I have a full time position and simply would like to see smiles and people enjoy them selves maybe once to twice a month. Does anyone have some advice they would like to share any advice or help would be appreciated.

Thank you
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8363 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
Contact Jon Racherbaumer. His informal group meets every week in a restaurant in Gretna.

Relaxed, friendly group. (Hier ist gemuetlichkeit!)

I'll look up his email, and come back tomorrow.
SNEAKY, UNDERHANDED, DEVIOUS,& SURREPTITIOUS ITINERANT MOUNTEBANK
Mary Mowder
View Profile
Inner circle
Sacramento / Elk Grove, CA
3649 Posts

Profile of Mary Mowder
Welcome maildropusa,

Focus on one or two tricks at a time because focus is needed to make a coherent performance. You owe it to your first (and all) audiences to be prepared as well as you can.

Try a local senior center. Many of the people going to these places are easy going and attentive audiences looking for social interaction. A great first audience for a try out.
Just remember that being older and polite shouldn't make you a chump, be aware of social signals that they have had enough LOL. AND SPEAK UP, hearing can be an issue.

Good luck.

-Mary Mowder
Stevethomas
View Profile
Inner circle
Southern U.S.A.
3724 Posts

Profile of Stevethomas
Joe Strauch is another good NOLA guy to know. He certainly gets around down there. He's a member here and he's on FB as well. Jojo The Clown. Fantastic magician and a good friend of mine.

Steve
maildropusa
View Profile

0 Posts