The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » How to switch show from 2-7 year olds to 9-14 year olds (6 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
MagicJac
View Profile
Regular user
166 Posts

Profile of MagicJac
I start 1-8 year old shows - introducing myself - reason why I am there in funny way, then say its my first time doing this today , if I mess up please forgive me ..ect ect
then I stop and say "oh oh" I forgot my magic wand..wait I think its here behind my magic cart and start pulling out something that looks like a wand but when I fully pull it out its something funny, usually kids point at it and laugh at me, I pretend I don't know what is happening.

Every time I get a call for an older kids show I usually turn it down, need tips on how to switch beginning of the show for older kids parties , please...

Thanks for any feedback for those that are truly here to help others.

Thank you,

MagicJac

Jac = Jaime Arana Cardenas
NYCTwister
View Profile
Loyal user
267 Posts

Profile of NYCTwister
I don't think there is a clear way to just "switch" from one group to the other. 9-14 yr olds are tougher than they used to be. The information age has turned them into tough, cunning young adults whom you would be smart to never underestimate, or speak down to on any level. Not that you would do so intentionally.
Used to be they would call out what they guessed the method was. Now they search for the method, and play the dammn Youtube video while you're performing the trick. (I've seen it happen.)

Sounds to me that if you want to break into that market, you brave soul you, you will need to restructure your show to the point that you won't recognize it as the same show.