The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » First Closeup Mat (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

TheBaaron
View Profile
New user
1 Post

Profile of TheBaaron
I have been doing magic for about 3 months now, and I would like to invest in a real close up mat. I have looked around, and was wondering if there are any mats similar to the rogue's arena [http://www.scamstuff.com/products/rogues-arena] but without the astronomical price. This would not be a mat that I take places, but rather a stationary mat to do videos and such on. Thank you!
Russo
View Profile
Special user
789 Posts

Profile of Russo
Many people use -rug sample(there borderd) -from rug store- if it would help any.
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8363 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
Ha! Russo, ya stole my line! (hee hee)

I seldom have used a close up mat, 'cuz I was, ordinarily, a stand-up act, but, the few times that I needed one, I would visit a rug/carpet store, and purchase a rug sample. They 'come' in all sorts of colors. They don't fold up particularly well but, they ARE cheap, and, work just fine.

When you get to the point where you are table hopping, etc. you'll learn that there is seldom room at the diner's table to place a mat, plus, you'll usually work standing up. Aisles are spaces for wait staff to use in delivering food!

If you MUST spend that money, buy a good book. I would recommend any of Harry Lorayne's books.
SNEAKY, UNDERHANDED, DEVIOUS,& SURREPTITIOUS ITINERANT MOUNTEBANK
Stephon Johnson
View Profile
Special user
Razorback Country
502 Posts

Profile of Stephon Johnson
Hello! Office supply (Office Depot etc..) they have oversized mouse pads in black or other colors. They range from $4 to $13 and various sizes.
http://www.officedepot.com/a/products/14......use-Pad/
http://www.officedepot.com/a/products/89......85-Blue/
http://www.officedepot.com/a/products/83......Pad-133/

Blessings,
Steph