The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Hi, everyone (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

January
View Profile
Veteran user
390 Posts

Profile of January
Hello, all,

I just wanted to take a moment to introduce myself. I've been mostly a lurker, but have always had an interest in magic and more recently mentalism. I'm a thirty-year-old Assistant Professor of Literature at a smaller private university. This gives me a perfect setting in which to practice my mentalism, as students are always eager for a five-minute break from a grueling lecture (especially in the longer once-a-week classes), and I can often link the mentalism material to our topics in the course. I also find it helps that they view me as an authority figure with a degree next to my name. The position of authority in an academic context makes them more ready to believe that all the manipulation is psychological rather than physical. On the other hand, because I'm a teacher I do make sure to emphasize that this is a fun diversion from class, and I use the tired naturalistic/psychological explanation in that context just because it does have truth to it (I love mental forces and the like), and I don't want to abuse my position of authority in case some students might be deceived too much into thinking I can actually read minds.

I really enjoy things like Bob Cassidy's Name/Place and his version of 4DT--there is just such a logical elegance to these pieces that I find both incredibly satisfying and graceful. Book tests are also fun given my profession, and since one of my skills I had before my interest in mentalism was speed reading, I find I can pull of something like the Hoy book test with an incredibly fast riffle that makes the effect very convincing, though it can be quite cringe-worthy when done poorly. It's probably the only effect I'm naturally good at, since my sleight-of-hand skills aren't the greatest.