The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » What do you do when people want to inspect your a egg bag? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

abbeylane
View Profile
Regular user
122 Posts

Profile of abbeylane
What do you do when someone wants to inspect the egg bag after performing the trick?

Is there somewhere that sells two egg bags for the trick: one for the trick with the gimmick and one to switch with no gimmick so you can hand over for inspection?
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8363 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
I've been using the Mardo/Sterling egg bag since 1952. Nobody has EVER asked to inspect/examine the bag, before, during, or after I've performed with it. --Nobody!!! --And, I've performed it for some very particular senior high school groups!

The egg bag is a classic prop. One must have a ROUTINE! The first time that I saw it done, I was somewhat less than impressed. It was in a movie in the early or mid '40s. The scene was a party in a living room. Each guest did "something". One played piano, one sang, one told a funny story, and, one dragged (!) a little bag from his pocket, turned it inside out, then back "inside in". He snapped his fingers, reached in the bag and brought out an egg. Replacing the egg in the bag, he snapped his fingers again, and showed the bag empty. Then he sat down. I didn't care if I ever saw an egg bag again!

In December of '51, I was helping behind the counter of the old Edmar Magic Shop (Norfolk, VA) I tell the whole story in my book, but, will edit it for this post.) Senor Charles Mardo lectured for Ring 103. His lecture was basically, his act. He PERFORMED the egg bag! It was a SIMPLE, FUNNY ROUTINE. He got LAUGHS, and APPLAUSE at the finish.

I bought one the next day. It became a big feature in the act, I used it for 50 plus years. Except for a ten year period when I used