The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index New to magic? Doubts (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Kleberdexter
View Profile
New user
Brazil
69 Posts

Profile of Kleberdexter
Hello how are you?
im new to magic and im reading some books, watch videos and training.
yesterday I started to read Tarbell Course.

I did some pocket shows in christmas, birthday parties and one show in kindengarten.

what I realized is that some tricks are very interesting for some person and some other don't care about.
I know that some presentation is for children and others for adults, but in a kids show some kids ( with the same age) like some trics and others don't.

my doubt is:

Its a matter of experience with magic, to know if a trick is good before to show this?

thanks.
Russo
View Profile
Special user
789 Posts

Profile of Russo
Don't just do a trick - have a reason for it-- a story -- etc. you can always try it - if your satisfied its- ok -Keep going. Ralph
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8363 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
Friend Kleberdexter!

Tarbell will help! You're just starting! I've been "at it" for 70 years, and, I still learn new things!

The old Latin proverb, "FESTINA LENTE"! (Make haste slowly!) is important to remember!

An infant learns to crawl before he learns to walk!

It's not necessary to learn every sleight, the first day!

"Those who think that magic consists of doing tricks, are strangers to magic. Tricks are only the crude residue from which the lifeblood of magic has been drained." --S. H. SHARPE
SNEAKY, UNDERHANDED, DEVIOUS,& SURREPTITIOUS ITINERANT MOUNTEBANK
Kleberdexter
View Profile
New user
Brazil
69 Posts

Profile of Kleberdexter
Thanks Dick Oslund. Im very happy with your advices. I look for you at Google And I see you book And dvd.
I try to fine some shop that send it t brazil.
Thanks.
Ed_Millis
View Profile
Inner circle
Yuma, AZ
2286 Posts

Profile of Ed_Millis
Quote: