The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Which Tricks to Buy? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

GetJet
View Profile
New user
23 Posts

Profile of GetJet
I would really appreciate some help on this.
I am an amateur magician (intermediate skill) who mostly does close-up magic on informal occasions.

I have been asked by a friend of mine to put on a small show for a birthday party (kids aged around 8-9). I am doing this for free, yet I would like to invest some money on tricks especially suited for kids. Could anyone point out some great routines?

I was thinking on the lines of "Hollingworth's Book", "Coloring Book", "Aesop's Ringer", ... Would these be a good choice? Any other ideas?

Thanks a lot!
Peter Marucci
View Profile
Inner circle
5389 Posts

Profile of Peter Marucci
While you don't actually have to buy it, the Miser's Dream is ideal for a kids' show.
In fact, I open every children's show with it; seems kids don't think you are a "real magician" unless you pull a coin from behind their ear.
Keep the tricks colorful, flashy, short, and simple.
The Coloring Book is very good and reasonably priced.
Consider a change bag or drawer box to produce mounds of silk scarves (puh-leeze, don't call them "silks").
Use plenty of volunteers. For them, you can use the Breakaway (or Droopy) wand, the Nesting Wands, etc.
Sucker tricks, like the Die Box, are always good PROVIDED you turn the sting onto yourself and don't make the kids the suckers!
cheers,
Peter Marucci
showtimecol@aol.com
GetJet
View Profile
New user
23 Posts

Profile of GetJet
Thanks a lot, I am going to check those items out!

Do you by any chance know if I can get some kind of bargain on colored silks? (I usually shop at Hanklee or LLpub)
GetJet
View Profile
New user
23 Posts

Profile of GetJet