The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Deckless! » » Veeser Count vs. Elmsley Count -- advice on which to learn first (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Bob G
View Profile
Inner circle
2831 Posts

Profile of Bob G
Hi folks,

I'm a beginner; I've been studying and practicing basic sleights for about a year; and I'd like to try out some packet tricks, which are pleasingly minimal. It seems that nearly everyone uses the Elmsley Count, but Jerry Mentzer in his Counts...Subtleties book says that Veeser's count accomplishes the same thing but in a more natural way that's easier for beginners. On the other hand, there's a thread in the Deckless category called "Veeser Count" in which one contributor (Paul) says that the two aren't interchangeable. Does anyone have advice about which one to learn first? If the two counts *are* interchangeable, I'd just as soon learn the easier one first -- Veeser's -- if in fact his *is* easier!

Thanks for any advice.

Bob
Boomer
View Profile
Special user
Prosper, TX
668 Posts

Profile of Boomer
I hadn't heard/remembered the Veeser Count, so had to pull out my CCM&S and look it up.

I couldn't do an Elmsley very well until after I bought Liam Montier/Big Blind Media's Elmsley Count Project.

Yea, I know, it's easy, but I just couldn't pull it off. Now I can.

Dave
DadwithAPen
View Profile
New user
Los Angeles
39 Posts

Profile of DadwithAPen
My recollection is Vesser is Elmsley in biddle grip.

When I started out I learned two counts. The Elmsley and Jordan. Basically one count gets you into a position to do the other. I don't know why packet tricks don't teach the Jordan count and instead have you switch cards from top to bottom.

That being said, don't choose the 'easier path' just because it's easier. Choose BOTH! Learn both and perfect them. Hard to do a Vesser with dollar bills. But you learn both and you have more in your 'bag of tricks'.