The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » All in the cards » » Only self-working? (10 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
Terrible Wizard
View Profile
Inner circle
1973 Posts

Profile of Terrible Wizard
I do quite a lot of SW tricks - I like easy Smile But then I'm a casual amateur.

But has anyone, especially any pro, tried to do a set (even a whole show!) of nothing but SW tricks?

Why do I ask? Well, as a thought experiment. It strikes me that there's loads of very strong, very interesting SW card tricks out there. If presentation really is the most important thing in magic, then shouldn't one be able to take these excellent SWers and mix them with a great performance to make a complete show?

Or, to ask another way, what's the point of non-self-working card magic?
0pus
View Profile
Inner circle
New Jersey
1739 Posts

Profile of 0pus
I am not sure what you mean by a "complete show." Can you elaborate?
Terrible Wizard
View Profile
Inner circle
1973 Posts

Sure.

It would vary according to context, but imagine a professional performer, say Bill Malone, doing their card magic gig - could they do that 'show' with only SWers?

If they did, would it lack something compared to their more usual sleight-heavy stuff (assuming their performance was as polished and charismatic as usual)? What would it lack?
marc_carrion
View Profile
Special user
638 Posts

Profile of marc_carrion
I think that's a great exercise... get some self-working, prepare or stack a deck in order to be able to perform all of them, perform and tweak, perform and tweak... I'm sure that if you have the same polished and charismatic presentation, it will not lack anything. If it lacks something it may be on the selection of the effects (only select miracles) or the presentation. Read Tamariz's the Magic Way, and Darwin Ortiz's Strong Magic and Designing Miracles.
Uli Weigel
View Profile
Inner circle
Berlin, Germany