The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » When spectators wants to examine a gimmicked item (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

fengenroll
View Profile
Loyal user
NYC
226 Posts

Profile of fengenroll
I'm just a newbie, I've practiced my routines for a while, I have performed for my girlfriend and my parents, and it went well. But now I thought I'd start performing for a group at college, or friends, but I'd like to include Scotch & Soda and Skinner's Monte to my act, so I've practiced these two, and I believe I know them very well by now.
Problem is if spectators asks to examine these items before the trick even starts, I know I'll get nervous and make mistakes.

Any suggestions?
F.
nike
View Profile
New user
ri
50 Posts

Profile of nike
When I used to do the skinner monte, I used to put 3 cards in my pocket. id do a few card effects with a normal deck (usually letting them examine before), put the deck in my pocket, "remember" that I had 1 more really cool thing to show and just add the 3 to the top

I'm sure there are better ways but that's 1 suggestion..
TwistedMindMajik
View Profile
New user
Nashville, TN.
14 Posts

Profile of TwistedMindMajik
Depending on the "Scotch and Soda" set you are using, let them look at the coin...

The set I use are made by Johnson and once the trick is complete the gimmick is undetectable. (I’m being vague so as not to reveal any secrets.)

I have also secretly retrieved a coin from my pocket as the trick is drawing to completion, then do a switch (your favorite method) and drop the real coin and then pocket the gimmicked coin…
...did you see that?
Ember
View Profile
Regular user
London
121 Posts

Profile of Ember
When I am working restaurants I normally carry 2-3 effects that require gimmicks of one sort or another. These however are not regular parts of my act.