We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The April 2004 entrée: Wesley James » » Know it alls and skeptics » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Roger Boucher
View Profile
Regular user
114 Posts

Profile of Roger Boucher
Now I am relatively new to performing. I have been doing it for about 1 year but have been doing magic for 4 years. And I was wondering your technique in getting rid of or disarming those people who "Oh I know that one" then lean over to thier friend and ruin the effect for that person, and just the overall atmosphere of the whole performance, and it isn't to say that I perform only the most popular tricks.

This happened when I was sitting with some friends at a pub and they saw some people they knew and wanted me to show them some magic so I obliged and entertained them but there was this one guy who acted as though I sucked when everyone else was enjoying the performance. His reasoning was that when you hang around with some guy that does magic (his friend) you know all of this stuff.

Now I am sure that everyone one time or another has encountered this kind of person and I was wondering if and how you deal with it.

Thanks for you input
Roger
Pete Biro
View Profile
1933 - 2018
18558 Posts

Profile of Pete Biro
When someone says, "I know.... " hand them the props and say, "Let's see your handling."
STAY TOONED... @ www.pete-biro.com
Wesley James
View Profile
V.I.P.
Hazlet, New Jersey
372 Posts

Profile of Wesley James
Roger,