The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » F/X » » Frequency question - please help (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

jkvand
View Profile
Special user
Johnstown, PA
658 Posts

Profile of jkvand
I'm new to this audio stuff, but I have just purchased a Fender Passport PD 150, and I love it! I would like to get a wireless mic for it, but as I look at different mics, I keep seeing that I need to specify what frequency I want to use it on. I don't know what this means. Does my Passport only work on a certain frequency, or is there a certain range? What do people mean when they list the different frequencies, and how do I know which one to get? Thanks!
Michael Messing
View Profile
Inner circle
Knoxville, TN
1817 Posts

Profile of Michael Messing
Hello,

You don't have to worry about which frequency you get. That's mainly if you have multiple wireless mic systems and you are trying to avoid interference between two mics. You would then specify a different frequency for your second mic.

Some wireless systems have multiple frequencies so that you can change them in the event of interference.

Michael
MichaelSibbernsen
View Profile
Special user
Omaha, NE
513 Posts

Profile of MichaelSibbernsen
Jkvand,

PM me your email address and I will send you a .pdf article of mine on "Purchasing a Wireless System" which addresses this question and much much more.

Michael
glodmagic
View Profile
Special user
USA
501 Posts

Profile of glodmagic
Frequency choice IS actually an issue.
The Passport uses a VHF band without digital subclasses.
It works great However the frequencies used are also in use by Weather radio, some TV channels, and other applications that change from town to town.

http://www.shure.com/scripts/freq_app/de......em=PGVHF

Refer to this frequency chart to make sure that your main city of business does not have a major transmitter in your chosen frequency.