The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » YouTube magic (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

TeddyBoy
View Profile
Special user
New York, NY
595 Posts

Profile of TeddyBoy
Hi All. I'm an old newbie - 60+ [gulp].

Have any of you seen the Youtube videos on the Classic Pass? I'm a tad embarrassed by this question but do you think they may be doctored? Perhaps speeded up at the appropriate moment or even edited to avoid showing the side-flash of cards. I can barely see the hands move and Poof! the deck portions are transposed. It seems to send the Second Law of Thermodynamics into doubt.

What say you?
So many sleights...so little time.
"Slow...deliberate...natural." Bill Tarr

Cheers,
Teddy
WitchDocChris
View Profile
Inner circle
York, PA
2614 Posts

Profile of WitchDocChris
Without a link to whatever video you're referring to, I can't be 100% positive, but I'm probably about 99% positive they are not doctored.

I think this for two reasons.
1) It's not that hard to get a pass that's pretty quick and doesn't flash. Just a matter of practicing good technique.
2) Most YT videos are done with cameras that aren't that great anyway. Even a semi-decent pass will probably be more than fast enough to slip by that frame rate. My pass looks phenomenal on videos taken with web cams - not so great in person.

Oh, and a bonus:
3) They can do as many takes as they want and just use the one that looks best.
Christopher
Witch Doctor

Psycho Seance book: https://tinyurl.com/y873bbr4
Boffo eBook: https://tinyurl.com/387sxkcd
TeddyBoy
View Profile
Special user
New York, NY
595 Posts

Profile of TeddyBoy
Thank you for your input.

Cheers,
Teddy
DeeGood
View Profile
New user
6 Posts

Profile of DeeGood
Quote:
On Mar 8, 2018, WitchDocChris wrote:
Without a link to whatever video you're referring to, I can't be 100% positive, but I'm probably about 99% positive they are not doctored.