The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Permission?!? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

espmagic
View Profile
Special user
979 Posts

Profile of espmagic
Ok, I've been doing this for almost 40 years, and I don't get it: I spend a fortune on an effect, practice it for a year, and then find out that I need permission (?) from the creator to perform it in various situations? Why? Don't performing rights come with the purchase (and if not, why)? Lee
WitchDocChris
View Profile
Inner circle
York, PA
2614 Posts

Profile of WitchDocChris
Well, I know in some cases performance rights are limited because the creator doesn't want the trick to be seen everywhere. It's not uncommon to see restrictions regarding online videos, TV appearances, etc.

I am not a lawyer, so this could be wrong and is not advice of any sort, but if the restrictions are not made explicitly clear before money changes hands, they are not valid. In other words, it has to be on the product page, or made clear on the purchase page or contract or whatever, BEFORE any money changes hands. If not, they are not valid as it's seen as changing the contract after the fact.
Christopher
Witch Doctor

Psycho Seance book: https://tinyurl.com/y873bbr4
Boffo eBook: https://tinyurl.com/387sxkcd
RMV
View Profile
New user
69 Posts

Profile of RMV
I have recently bought two tricks that limited the performance rights. The same as Chris said, they were limiting ability to perform it on tv. But they were also trying to limit the ability for someone to take their idea and profit by building a copy and selling them.

I’m not a lawyer either.
hypnoman1
View Profile
New user
76 Posts

Profile of hypnoman1