The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Getting started as a professional performer (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Oscar.Abraham
View Profile
New user
Mexico
32 Posts

Profile of Oscar.Abraham
Hey guys,

I'm not new to magic, I've been performing as an amateur for 10 years now, with playing cards and few other props -- no coins, sadly, but eventually I will. So after all the money and time invested in magic, I've decided to get myself started as a professional magician, but I'm feeling nervous about it. Fortunately, I am acquainted with many professional magicians who have given me their advise; many of them would agree that the best way to start, due to having so few props in my repertoire, would be in restaurants, coffee shops, bars, and smaller places where I can table hop. I thought that was good advise. What do you guys think?
Regards,

Oscar
stevefaulkner
View Profile
Regular user
169 Posts

Profile of stevefaulkner
Hi Oscar,
I agree. For me, the most important thing is to begin to feel comfortable performing professionally to calm those nerves. The best way being doing as much as possible. When I become pro, this really helped me to find my own style and boost my confidence. Though I had worked the street, close-up scared the heck out of me when I started out, it just felt like a very different thing. I now find it way easier to perform in a professional setting as opposed to friends and colleaugues. Good luck with it and I look forward to seeing how you get on.
Review Channel - Real Magic Review
https://youtube.com/realmagicreview

Podcast. Search 'Steve Faulkner's Magic Show' or
Apple https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/steve-faulkners-magic-show/id1484648736

Membership. https://www.onlinemagic.co

IBM UK Close-up Champion 2013
Award Winner at The Magic Circle Close-up Magician of the Year 2010
National Street Performing Champion 2009