The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » The challenge of sleight of hand. (13 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

TeddyBoy
View Profile
Loyal user
New York, NY
255 Posts

Profile of TeddyBoy
Hi All, the 60+ yo newbie here. I have recently come to the conclusion that trying to become decent at sleight of hand is the most difficult task I have ever inflicted on myself.

How about you? Is achieving e.g., a performance-appropriate level of competency in your sleight specialty the most difficult task you've undertaken? Of course this does not include dealing with financial or health problems of your own or someone close to you, but merely meant to encompass tasks with which you challenged yourself to learn/do something. I expect those of you that have been doing magic since your days in the womb will have a perspective different from those who caught the magic bug as adults. But I'd be interested in reading about how difficult it was to reach even a minimal performance-level.

Thanks for listening.
So many sleights...so little time.
Cheers,

Ted
ActionJack
View Profile
New user
Pacific NW
83 Posts

Profile of ActionJack
Teddy, I came across this thread and had to laugh at the phrase you used, (most difficult task I have ever inflicted on myself.) I laugh because I am sharing your misery. I am in my late forties and have been concentrating on card and coin manipulations. Just this evening I had sort of an epiphany. I have been working on my hand dexterity by practicing a one handed shuffle when for some reason I decided to try it with my opposite hand and voila it worked much easier. I still need to work up my non dominant hand strength and dexterity but I think by using my dominant hand it gave me the feel for what I should be doing with my other hand. It is late and maybe I am just rambling and not getting my point across very well.
funsway
View Profile
Inner circle