The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Right hand vs left hand (9 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Joeni
View Profile
New user
Germany
73 Posts

Profile of Joeni
My strong hand is the right hand, I write with it, play the guitar as right-handed, and so on. But now I found that certain sleights in card and coin magic are way easier with the left hand. For example Charlier Cut - while I still struggle to do it with my right hand, the left one does it fairly good at it. Same is true with coin palms. While I still haven't mastered them really good, my left hand is far better and faster learning it. I started practicing most sleights with both hands the same day, first with right, then with left hand. What do others think about that? Is it because the left hand doesn't have to unlearn wrong handlings? Is this "normal"?
Julie
View Profile
Inner circle
3943 Posts

Profile of Julie
I don't know if this is "normal" or the "why" of it, but I enjoy the same idiosyncrasy. Smile

Julie
TeddyBoy
View Profile
Special user
New York, NY
595 Posts

Profile of TeddyBoy
I never thought about it, but although I do virtually all manipulations right-handed, I also do the Charlier cut in my left hand.
So many sleights...so little time.
"Slow...deliberate...natural." Bill Tarr

Cheers,
Teddy
funsway
View Profile
Inner circle
old things in new ways - new things in old ways
9987 Posts

Profile of funsway
Of related interest - when you plan on using the hand of a Volunteer Assistant, which one?

Many magicians agree that magic effects "in their hand" or "not in yours" is very powerful - and has some additional entertainment possibilities.
Yet, few study on the sensitivity and focus difference between one's dominant and support hand.

Not only do the hands send different messages to the brain and influence conditioned memory, but there is a psychological advantage