The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » F/X » » Quick Tips on Sound from a Sound Engineer (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

will lane
View Profile
Veteran user
Will likes to post so he has made
339 Posts

Profile of will lane
Some preamble if you'd like:

I am currently reading through Ken Weber's Maxiumum Entertainment (I highly recommend it so far) and am passing through his chapters on sound and lighting. Magic is a hobby of mine; I work 2 part-time jobs which are separate from studying magic. One job is as the Music Director for a Church, where I both direct music AND oversee/improve/maintain the sound equipment and sound volunteers. I also work as the Sound Engineer/Music Admin for a local college, doing gigs from full bands to just speaking events. I have been learning sound through hard-knocks and a lot of research, for the past 5 or so years. I'm not an expert on sound design, but I hope to share a few world-tested tips to supplement Ken's material.

His advice on sound is 99% spot-on (a few things in the Monitors section are a bit iffy but that's later), especially considering sound design is such an overlooked part of a performance. I have attended many, many events where the sound was terrible and distracting, from local music gigs to single mic events. And many times, the fixes for bad sound are such simple fixes which can improve the sound quality from distractingly horrible to not even noticed. Sound design is, of course, supposed to NOT be noticed by the average person. Similar to his thinking on hard sleights- not even noticed and not appreciated... Smile