The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Food for thought » » Indie film unraveling the science of magic. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Brad Ballew
View Profile
New user
Nashville, TN
74 Posts

Profile of Brad Ballew
I am not a professional magician but have been a pretty devout hobbyist since I was a kid. I can look back and see how my path might have gone the magic route, but my love for filmmaking won out and I became a Producer/Director.

However, my love for magic has never waned in the slightest. In fact, I don't even want to guess at how much time and money I have invested in various marketed gimmicks, books, and videos over the years. Much that I have never even performed for anyone. I'd say I have a decent knowledge on the subject for someone who isn't a career magician.

My other love, apart from film, is science. I am a huge science nerd and as a result, a huge sci-fi geek. I have a particular interest in the sub-genre, "Hard Sci-Fi", which includes films like Interstellar, 2001 A Space Odyssey, Primer, Solaris, etc. I have been developing a hard sci-fi film concept that uses the magic community as a gateway to a deep and hidden world based on some of the wildest scientific concepts we've discovered or theorized about.

It shares some similarities with The Prestige in that it starts very grounded in the world of magic but eventually moves to something extraordinary that only the fringes of science can explain. This is not a big budget VFX extravaganza though. It's a smaller more cerebral low budget indie film more akin to something like Primer.