The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » Advice please - Have been asked to perform at a colleagues wedding (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Paul7538
View Profile
New user
4 Posts

Profile of Paul7538
Hello Everyone,
So I have been studying magic now for nearly 3 years (I am 51). I am a pure amateur hobbyist and only have performed for friends and family and at work. Recently a friend at work asked if I would like to do some magic at his wedding in November of this year. I explained that I have never performed commercially before and that perhaps before deciding I should meet him and his fiancée for a drink and chat and I will show them a couple of effects to see if they both like me and my standard of magic.

Meeting happened and they both liked me and said would I do the photography period as well as the wedding breakfast. And then stay on for the evening (as a guest) as well. So I said that I would not want to get paid for this, but would like to have all pictures and video taken of me performing instead (just in case I get the bug to do again. To put on any potential website.) But being really honest, I feel less pressured if I am not being paid.

Obviously I want to do them proud, and repay their confidence in me. So I have been reading the forums and advice offered by the many experienced magicians on here. I have brought the excellent Strolling magician ebook by Mark Leveridge, to help me understand the technicalities of working a space and the tables.

But what has really got me stressing and going around in circles is the number of effects that I should concentrate on and work on for the day. I just keep re-writing the list and structure and amount of effects. It has become paralysing.

The photo period is for an hour
And the wedding breakfast is for up to an hour and a half. There are about 70 guests 6 tables and the top table.