The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » What are people recommending these days as the best videos for beginners getting into card magic? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

EndersGame
View Profile
Inner circle
Reviewer EndersGame
1478 Posts

Profile of EndersGame
I have a number of videos myself, and am writing an article about this topic. I'm curious to hear what people are recommending nowadays as their top choices for a complete beginner getting into card magic?

So if someone is a newbie who wants to learn some basic fundamentals/sleights plus some tricks, what video/DVD would you recommend they purchase?

BoardGameGeek reviewer EndersGame - click here to see all my pictorial reviews: => Magic Reviews <==> Playing Card Reviews <==> Board Game Reviews <==
MGordonB
View Profile
Loyal user
216 Posts

Profile of MGordonB
Michael Ammar’s Easy to Master Card Miracles works for me.
TeddyBoy
View Profile
Veteran user
New York, NY
317 Posts

Profile of TeddyBoy
I would recommend, in this order:

1) Gerry Griffin's Complete Card Magic DVD set.
2) Prof. Roberto Giobbi's DVD set based on Card College Volumes 1 and 2.
3) The Royal Road to Card Magic DVDs by R. Paul Wilson.

Just for perspective, I started with the Royal Road, book and DVD, and later Card College books and DVDs. I obtained Gerry's DVDs somewhere along the line, but clearly it was not close to being my first exposure to card magic since I did not learn about them until later. My ranking and comments are based on the fact that the OP's topic seemed limited to the DVDs and/or videos that a newbie would likely encounter.