The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workers » » Instantaneous or No-get-ready DLs (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4 [Next]
magicwiia
View Profile
Regular user
115 Posts

Profile of magicwiia
I'm new to card magic (a few months) and trying to learn undamentals. My approach has been to learn only no-get-ready DLs only. It forces me to not rely on a break at least in the early-learning phase.

I think I've progressed well with the Dr Daley Instantaneous DL and Martin Nash Knockout DL. I think I can do either with a fair level of confidence. I've struggled mightily with the small-packet DL in spite of trying the Brother Hammon small-packet technique. It is a temporary set back but creates the fire within me to persevere and learn it.

There is so much to learn and getting a satisfactory DL is paramount to me. Is forcing myself to only learn no-get-ready DLs, with the hopes it accelerates the process, a bad approach?
Tortuga
View Profile
Elite user
Ballwin, MO
429 Posts

Profile of Tortuga
Quote:
On Jun 25, 2019, magicwiia wrote:
I'm new to card magic (a few months) and trying to learn undamentals. My approach has been to learn only no-get-ready DLs only. It forces me to not rely on a break at least in the early-learning phase.

I think I've progressed well with the Dr Daley Instantaneous DL and Martin Nash Knockout DL. I think I can do either with a fair level of confidence. I've struggled mightily with the small-packet DL in spite of trying the Brother Hammon small-packet technique. It is a temporary set back but creates the fire within me to persevere and learn it.

There is so much to learn and getting a satisfactory DL is paramount to me. Is forcing myself to only learn no-get-ready DLs, with the hopes it accelerates the process, a bad approach?