The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Bicycle Cards- various types (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

SDMoore1
View Profile
New user
71 Posts

Profile of SDMoore1
I am still learning cards. I have almost no interest in the variety of "special" collectors decks.

That said, I'm interested in learning more about Bicycle decks. May I kindly request someone to explain to me the differences in 808, 807, 809, decks?
Standard, Rider, Mandolin, Gold... I hear these terms tossed around casually, but am not sure of the specifics.
I'm guessing there is an existing thread about this, but could not find it. If there is, and someone could direct me, that would be great.

The bicycle (manufacturer) website was almost zero help.

Once we have the standard bicycles covered, perhaps you could advise me your favorite and why you like it.
I am thinking sticking with Bicycle makes sense, only because it is so familiar to everyone.

Thanks in advance for your advices.
Drylid
View Profile
New user
75 Posts

Profile of Drylid
If you're just starting just use normal bicycle standards. Don't worry about anything else. Once you are ready move up to richard turner bicycle decks*gold seals*. They last like 5 times as long and are only a dollar more. Rider backs are what you usually see everywjere and is the angel riding bike. Mandolin is just different artwork on backs. The numbers I don't know but 808 is all I've ever seen. Blue seals are older cards *pre 2009 I think?* black seals are all you find in stores and are because the factory moved.
EndersGame
View Profile
Inner circle
Reviewer EndersGame
1358 Posts

Profile of EndersGame
I've written a couple of articles about this which may help:

The Bicycle Brand: Is it worth getting a Bicycle deck?

Factors That Affect the Handling of a Deck