The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Reflections from my first performance - and questions. (16 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Mike.Bonner
View Profile
New user
Gloucester, England
18 Posts

Profile of Mike.Bonner
Hi Everyone,

Yesterday I completed my first performance at a wedding for people I don’t know. I thought it would be wise to provide some reflections on how the performance went and to ask some questions, which people may or may not like to reflect on with me.

Context of the performance:
In order to provide some context, I have been practicing magic for 10 months and have mainly been showing what I learn to friends and family. I was recently asked to do some magic at a friends birthday gathering and one of the people who attended enjoyed what he saw and passed on the message to one of his friends that they needed to book me for their wedding (as they shared that they wanted some entertainment).

Arranging the performance:
I met the bride and her family (the groom was working), prior to the wedding. I spent time getting to know how best I could serve them on the day and what they wanted. I had in mind that I did not want to do any table magic and would rather walk around (as to consider angles and not disturb people whilst eating). We agreed that I would greet guests as they arrive for the evening reception. This was a good opportunity to show the family some magic and get to know them as people. This meant that I could talk to people about them during the routine and help me build rapport with others. This was also an Indian wedding, so I got to find out more about the families beliefs, faith and culture to ensure that I avoided any faux pas.

As I am new to all of this, I agreed to do this for free. However, asked that they write me a review based on their guests feedback and a copy of any photos they might have of the performances.

Choosing what to perform: