The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Shuffled not Stirred » » How I memorized Mnemonica (8 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

ImpromptuBoy
View Profile
Special user
Toronto, Canada
875 Posts

Profile of ImpromptuBoy
Hi everyone,

I don’t know how many of you will be interested or care for this story of how I memorized Mnemonica, but hopefully those of you who are interested will find this story helpful and encouraging.

So I purchased Mnemonica back in 2010. I tried to memorize the stack using the methods in the book, for some reason they weren’t sticking. Several years ago, I purchased Harry Lorayne’s Memory Book, I studied the major system to memorize numbers, but that’s as far as I went. For some reason I never had the patience to study the peg system and the playing card words. So I gave up on Mnemonica altogether, thinking it would be impossible for me to learn. About a year ago, I returned to Harry’s book, and I sat down and studied BOTH the peg words from 1-100, and the playing card words, until they both became second nature. Now that I knew both systems very well, I decided to give Mnemonica another shot. I made the associations for each playing card on paper, and then I mentally tried to recall the association without looking at the paper. The result was successful. I went through the list on paper for about half an hour before trying to recall it on my own.

The pictures I made for each playing card were ridiculous and memorable, hence why it was easy for me to recall the order. I was amazed. All it took was 30 minutes, once I was familiar with both of Harry’s systems.

I regret not studying this sooner, because the magic you can achieve with Mnemonica is simply phenomenal.

I hope this will encourage those who are intimidated or those who have given up. If I can do it, anyone can do it.

Good luck!
dclxvinyc
View Profile
New user
83 Posts

Profile of dclxvinyc