The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » Coin Vanishes with Balls (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
cloneman
View Profile
Elite user
474 Posts

Profile of cloneman
I'm just starting to learn the cups and balls after spending a solid 6 months on coin work. I thought the ball vanishes would be easier since I can already do a number of coin vanishes fairly well, IMHO. To my dismay, I'm finding that the balls are so light and they don't fall into place like the heavier (and flatter) coins. Right now the only things that look decent are shuttle passes, the french drop, classic palming and thumb clips.

Obviously I need practice. I know that, and I'm doing that.

Can anyone out there do a retention or a drop vanish with a ball and have it look as good as a coin?

Any tips on going from coins to balls?
"Anything is possible... if you don't know what you are talking about."
Jim Wilder
View Profile
Special user
Birmingham, AL
954 Posts

Profile of Jim Wilder
One main difference with the coins and balls, is that the coins will flash due to their physical nature, therefore imprinting in a spectator's visual retention. so actually, it is not comparing apples to apples due to the dull colors of(non-metal) balls. but you probably already have a physical advantage in the maniuplations being that you have worked much with coins.
cloneman
View Profile
Elite user
474 Posts

Profile of cloneman
Jwilder, do you do both coins and cups and balls, and if so, which sleights do you find transfer the best from coins to balls?
Bill Hegbli
View Profile
Eternal Order
Fort Wayne, Indiana
22797 Posts

Profile of Bill Hegbli