The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » Pseudo Himber Count (5 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

mrmagik68
View Profile
Special user
NYC
529 Posts

Profile of mrmagik68
Greetings coin workers!

I just started delving into Doug Brewer's, The Unexpected Visitor. What a great little book on coin magic. The first routine I'm studying is, The Famous Three Coin Trick. In phase 4 in the book, Doug incorporates and describes the Himber Click Pass. As I'm reading the description of this sleight with coins in hand, the first thing I thought to myself was, WTF is this! The move does not look or feel natural in my hands at all. Immediately, I think to myself, okay I have to try and devise a better method for accomplishing this. Basically, you're counting two coins as three using the audible clink. Thanks to this wonderful site, The Magic Café, I searched around and in comes, the Pseudo Himber Count from Dr. Michael Rubinstein. What a wonderful method to accomplish this! I tip my hat off to you sir. After referencing this move here in the Café, I was lucky enough to still have my copy of NYCMS Vol. 1 where Dr. Rubinstein teaches the move in a routine named, Long Term, Short Term. Does anyone else use this count? If so, which routines do you use it for?

Roberto
Original Card Clinician
Michael Rubinstein
View Profile
V.I.P.
4018 Posts

Profile of Michael Rubinstein
This and other false counts can be found in the new book, Rubinstein Coin Magic.