The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » A magician fooler?! Does it really matter? (16 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Nicolo Maserati
View Profile
New user
Murrieta, CA
85 Posts

Profile of Nicolo Maserati
Before I start, this is only my opinion, I know I haven't been super active on the Café but I have been practicing magic and mentalism for the last 21 years, so take this for what you think it's worth.

We (performers) are the only ones obsessed with method. We are so focused on creating a holy grail method for acaan or a mind reading plot without having anything written down, no books, no anything that we lose touch with connecting with lay people. Acaan where I psychologically force the 7 of hearts and b****m d**l at their number with some false shuffles prior is the exact same effect to a lay person as the "holy grail" it makes no difference to them.

I think our big obsession isn't about fooling lay people. We want to fool other magicians because for some reason that fuels our ego. Who really cares if an effect fools another magician? Well, more people than not it seems like. So many descriptions for effects for sale seem to always include "Magician fooler!!!!" And that gets us all giddy inside. Who cares?!

If an effect is presented correctly and is reframed, the spectator will not know the difference. They will go away from the effect thinking, "I thought of a friends name, he read my mind and told me". The ways of getting that information during the effect have no meaning, because you give it no meaning. The fact that the spectator rights a name down on a business card, should have no meaning to them. They shouldn't remember it because it's not important.

I would love to hear other peoples opinions on this. I get that we want to fool other magicians but in my opinion, it's not why we got into this.

Thanks friends!

- NM
funsway