The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workers » » DVDs or Books? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Bfrancabandera
View Profile
New user
50 Posts

Profile of Bfrancabandera
Hi Everyone. I am new to the Magic Cafe as well as new to card magic. I have a heard from many people that books are the best way to learn card magic. But it seems a lot more difficult to try to learn something from a book than it does from a DVD. Any thoughts would be helpfull. Thanks.
Mark Ennis
View Profile
Inner circle
Raleigh, NC
1031 Posts

Profile of Mark Ennis
I like books myself. There are more opportunities to read books than to watch DVD's. I do like DVD's, but I prefer books.
ME
TheAmbitiousCard
View Profile
Eternal Order
Northern California
13425 Posts

Profile of TheAmbitiousCard
If you're new, I'd start with a DVD. I would STRONGLY suggest the Michael Ammar card miracles. That will get you excited about the magic, show you how you can present effects, and teach you some real classics.

Then start getting books as you can afford them. You do not need to go hog wild getting tons of books of tricks, you'll go broke. Get books on misdirection and theory.

There are a lot of books on card slights that are dirt cheap, get as many of those as you can afford.

You can also pick up used videos/DVDs/books from here and everywhere.

If you want more suggestions on books, vidoes, DVDs, pm me.

frank
www.theambitiouscard.com Hand Crafted Magic
Trophy Husband, Father of the Year Candidate,
Chippendale's Dancer applicant, Unofficial World Record Holder.
dboeren
View Profile
New user
Atlanta, GA
16 Posts

Profile of dboeren
My personal opinion is that DVDs are better for learning sleights. Books definately have a place too, they are excellent for learning history, tips, tricks, and other material.