The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Shuffled not Stirred » » New to memdeck (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

BWind
View Profile
Loyal user
Honolulu, Hawaii
247 Posts

Profile of BWind
I am very new at memorizing a deck of cards. Already purchased the Tamariz & Aronson books. Here is my Q: Is there any significance to the grouping of cards when trying to commit to memorization? For example, the Tamariz system suggest breaking into 4 card groups (not sure about Aronson). Any assistance would be greatly appreciated, thank you.
BWind
WooG
View Profile
New user
30 Posts

Profile of WooG
I think everyone will have their own approach. I learned based on the recommended process in mnemonica. I found focusing on first 13 then first 26, etc was the best way to start. Then drilling backwards from 52 and randomized orders. However more important is putting to test and being able to recall the card and card before and after immediately on the fly during a routine. I did this by practicing routines with timers. Focusing on performing out loud as well.
JBSmith1978
View Profile
Veteran user
NY
345 Posts

Profile of JBSmith1978
My advice is to use a peg system as you’d be tackling two birds with 1.5 stones.
Not only can a peg system facilitate the memorizing but it’s far more reaching in life.
IMHO learning a peg system and how to apply it greatly outweighs memorizing the deck.

Beside that most will say tackle somewhere between three to seven at a time.
Woody suggests that one memorizes the first 26 cards then tackle the second.
This is to easily keep in mind the two halves as separate . Great advice in the long run.
Nikodemus
View Profile
Loyal user
288 Posts

Profile of Nikodemus
I did quite a lot of research before choosing a stack to learn.
Here is a quick summary -

The most popular stacks have been designed around certain features - NOT around how you would learn them.