The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Mentally Speaking » » FEATURES by John Anders (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Papa Legba
View Profile
Special user
home-an unremarkable spiral arm of an insignificant galaxy
750 Posts

Profile of Papa Legba
HI, anybody have this? Is it just another version of FREE WILL or does it have something new to offer?
Use the FORCE Luke.
oliverho
View Profile
New user
36 Posts

Profile of oliverho
I'm responding long after the original post, but I just picked this up and like it so far. I thought I'd share my thoughts in case anyone's interested.

I'm hardly an expert. I'm familiar with the Free Will principle and I have Mark Chandaue's excellent book on the subject. I'm a hobbyist. I like doing tarot and palm readings when the opportunities arise, and I like effects that lend themselves to reading-style performances.

I'd say this effect is a variation of the Free Will effect: there are three options, and the spectator makes some choices, which end up matching the options in some way.

I like this version because of its flexibility. You receive two sets of props and there are a lot of instructions for different variations. One set of props and instructions come from John Carey.

I like John Anders's props (an x-ray image of a skull, a jaw and a hand), and I've been trying out a personality-profile type of presentation with them. I've only tried it out a few times, but the reactions have been good. I'm still working on it, but maybe it's of interest. I'd appreciate any constructive feedback/thoughts.

Here's how my presentation looks from the spectator's point of view: