The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Is MagicianPalace.com a legit site to buy from? (6 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

WhoTiny
View Profile
New user
1 Post

Profile of WhoTiny
Hi,

I'm very new to all this, and am doing my rounds of purchasing a bunch of mentalism books to read and study. I prefer having hard copies, but some of the books I'm interested in seem to be no longer in print. I found 'The Artful Mentalism of Bob Cassidy Vol 2" on a site called magicianpalace.com. They are selling a PDF download for $13.99. I looked around their site for other books I'm interested in, and they appear to have everything I could possibly want in PDF downloads for incredibly cheap prices. This immediately got me thinking that this site may be illegally selling scans of books they have no right to, so I'd thought I'd ask here. I definitely don't want to pay any money to this site if they are ripping off the original creators. Since I'm quite new to this world, I don't trust myself to make any judgements since I'm so unfamiliar with it all. So in short, is this site a scam as I suspect? And if it is, does anyone know where I can legally obtain 'The Artful Mentalism of Bob Cassidy Vol 2'? My searches aren't pulling anything up and I'd really like it.

Thanks so much!

(Here is a direct link to the book in question on that site: http://www.magicianpalace.com/the-artful......273.html )
Ravenspur
View Profile
Regular user
Granby, MA
147 Posts

Profile of Ravenspur
This looks like illegal, pirated material.

It uses "Domains by Proxy," which obscures site ownership and often covers for scams.

Your title looks like it's out of print.
Boomer
View Profile
Special user
Livermore, CA
561 Posts

Profile of Boomer
Artful Mentalism is still available in hard-cover:
https://hrmagicbooks.com/?s=artful+menta......=product

I ordered a few weeks back. Great book.

Dave
JonHackl
View Profile
Regular user