The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Training (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

GJo
View Profile
Loyal user
280 Posts

Profile of GJo
Who here is self taught (books, tapes, etc), and who has been taught one-on-one, or in a class situation?

What were your journeys?
funsway
View Profile
Inner circle
old things in new ways - new things in old ways
9988 Posts

Profile of funsway
There is also "mentoring" as a learning option - not the the same as teaching/instructing. Details later after others chime in.
"the more one pretends at magic, the more awe and wonder will be found in real life." Arnold Furst

eBooks at https://www.lybrary.com/ken-muller-m-579928.html questions at ken@eversway.com
Russo
View Profile
Inner circle
So.California / Centl.Florida / retired Florida
1167 Posts

Profile of Russo
In the late 40's early 50's I was an welfare child - Uncle had a book called "Fun For Boys" - in it was a section about Magic, and one on Ventriloquism - (I just receive a copy on line -1st one disappeared ). So did shows for a couple of $$ -to help Mom and sis. After a Lady's club gave me $10. for a small gig when I was 14. (now 85, 75 in Magic/Vent performing for $250. Up -now retired).. Most learning was self taught, Books from the Library - trial and error. NO TV to see Magicians - Must have been successful, Magic/Vent. was always an Ad-Vocation (per advise from State Welfare Dept, ha ha ha ) etc. So, save gig $$. And now We're Debt free and bought home for cash, retired in Florida. How ?, Often made more gig $$, per a week than Job (which paid for for Dr.- Health, vacations, retirement $$ etc. 'You Know', for self and Family -including Wonderful Wife and 2 great Kids) and so saved gig $$- AHHHHHHHHHHHH 'Life Story'- LOL see profile <> Ralph ROUSSEAU < (russo)
Baileybrat
View Profile
New user
10 Posts

Profile of Baileybrat