The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » F/X » » Power Distribution Center/Panel Question (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

afun14u
View Profile
Loyal user
Tennessee
250 Posts

Profile of afun14u
Let’s try this one again in a different way. I am looking for a Power Distribution Center/Panel to be used with my show for powering my Light’s, Sound, Concessions and whatever else I may need. Does anyone out there have any experience with these? And if you do can you please give me some advice? Thanks for ANY information you can share.

Robert Jones
Empowering Kingdom Growth through Evangelistic Entertainment!
Dan McLean Jr aka, Magic Roadie
View Profile
Special user
Toronto, Canada
793 Posts

Profile of Dan McLean Jr aka, Magic Roadie
While I am not an electrician, the company by whom I am employed uses these for live events every day. We design & build our own, and they are "up to code" (regulated electrical code) and government approved.

I don't personally design or build the things, but I know a little about them. What would you like to know, Robert? I do know that, no matter where you are, they need to be up to code and approved. UL (Underwriters Laboratories) are the folks who issue the approval, and there are national & state electrical codes/standards.

Simply getting power into the "distro" is done with any of a number of large connectors (stove plug, dryer plug, Joy, CAM, etc...). each has its own legal limitations, and you can't be sure which one you'll be presented at any given venue, so you'll probably need to have one set of each, and maybe even some others. You may even be presented with a panel into which a "tie in" must be done. In a "tie in", your bare wires are bolted into an in-house electrical box. Just owning these bits—stove plug, dryer plug, Joy plug, CAMs, bare wire, etc—in a pretty substantial investment, but making the rest of it is tremendously expensive!