The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » F/X » » Sound Systems » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Billy Diamond
View Profile
New user
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
24 Posts

Profile of Billy Diamond
I have always been concerned with the lack of good sound magicians seem to use (or in this case do not use).

I want to recommend a power amp over a power mixer. The quality with a power amp over a mixer is superior. Also....if you have a first class show you should surely have first class sound.

I am basically, just fueling this area of the board and would like to converse. While I am no expert in the area of sound I have several years of experience on what works and what does not and have also worked professionally with a sound crew, aside from performing.

Billy Diamond

Extreme Reality Illusions

Creators and Builders of magic and illusion
Steve Brooks
View Profile
Founder / Manager
Northern California - United States
4817 Posts

Profile of Steve Brooks
Good point Billy, I couldn't agree more! Smile
"Always be you because nobody else can" - Steve Brooks
Scott F. Guinn
View Profile
Inner circle
"Great Scott!" aka "Palms of Putty" & "Poof Daddy G"
6582 Posts

Profile of Scott F. Guinn
After EXTENSIVE research, in my opinion the single best all-around sound system for the one man show is the Fender Passport. 500 watts, four channels, a couple of mikes, and the speakers attach to the tower to make a one piece unit complete with a carrying handle. Perfect for audiences of 50-2500. If you know how to dicker, you can get the system, complete with speaker stands and their carrying bag and a quality wireless headset mike for around $1000. Do a big show or two, and it's paid for itself.

I know i'm starting to sound like a broken record, but one of my Pro-Files columns on the Visions website addresses this very topic: "Setting the Stage" discusses PA, lights tables and backdrops. Check it out.