The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Tarbell vs. Card College (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
timkun2004
View Profile
New user
16 Posts

Profile of timkun2004
I am a beginner that is interested in close-up magic, mainly cards. Which do you think would be more appropriate for me:

Tarbell Course (All 8 volumes)
Card College (All 5 books) + an Intermediate card book.

Thanks.

-Tim
Shane Wiker
View Profile
Inner circle
Las Vegas
1199 Posts

Profile of Shane Wiker
I don't have Card College, so I can't comment on it, but if you want cards, DON'T go to Tarbell. The card material in it is outdated (Although a few, like card to orange, are very good), but the non-card material is very valuable.

Basically, get Card College for cards, or Tarbell for non-cards.

Shane Wiker
timkun2004
View Profile
New user
16 Posts

Profile of timkun2004
I think I'll just get Card College now and Tarbell later. Any ideas on a good intermediate book on effects?
Dark
View Profile
Elite user
406 Posts

Profile of Dark
If you're interested in cards only, all five card college books cover everything from the basics to very advanced. Tarbell has mostly non-card effects.

Off Topic: If you don't want to spend all that money you can get Royal Road to Card Magic for 8$ (or electronic form from Lybrary.com for 5$). It covers the basics and is a good place to start, but the presentations are a bit outdated.
mormonyoyoman
View Profile
Inner circle
I dug 5,000 postholes, but I have only
2440 Posts

Profile of mormonyoyoman
And while we're mentioning http://www.Lybrary.com ---