The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » Cups and Balls Brass-hobbytron (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Burrich
View Profile
Loyal user
214 Posts

Profile of Burrich
Has anyone got these cups?

http://www.hobbytron.net/Cups-and-Balls-Brass.html

It says they're solid brass which probably means they're heavier than the aliminium set. And they're less than $20! I have aluminium but find they knock over easily. I want a cheap set of heavy cups. Would these be for me? I'm still a beginner in the cups and balls so I don't want to spend a lot just yet.

They also have these:

http://www.hobbytron.net/Magic-Pro-Cups-and-Balls.html

for $5 and I don't think they could be worse than the aluminium one's that I bought for $19.95.

Steven.
BSutter
View Profile
Special user
Sitting on a pile of
582 Posts

Profile of BSutter
I do not have either of these sets in my collection. For the price I do not think you would be making a mistake. When I looked at the photo of the brass set it gives me the impression of light gauge brass, they may dent with cup through cup moves etc. The site also gives no indication of the size of the cups, I presume they are small. Perhaps you should contact the vendor to get answers to these questions and any others you can think of.

Bill
Burrich
View Profile
Loyal user
214 Posts

Profile of Burrich
Thanks. Yes in the pictures the brass cups look like the aluminium cups I have with a brass coating. The ridge at the bottom looks too narrow to support a good heavy cups. OK so I want a set of heavy enough cups that aren't too expensive. Any ideas?

Steven.
hkwiles
View Profile
Special user
Howard Wiles
797 Posts

Profile of hkwiles
Depends what you call cheap!
I got a set of paul fox style Brass Cups from http://www.calmagic.com $75 (about £42)

cheers
Howard
Bill Palmer
View Profile
Eternal Order
Only Jonathan Townsend has more than
24315 Posts